/2019 Spitzenkandidaten

2019 Spitzenkandidaten

The European Council (heads of national governments and states) has nominated Ursula von der Leyen (CDU-EPP) as the candidate for the EU Commission Presidency. She now needs to secure a majority in the EU Parliament. This is what we project for the vote:


The German term spitzenkandidat – plural spitzenkandidaten – traditionally refers to the lead candidate of a party.

Before the European Election campaign starts, each party on the European level can publicly announce who their transnational spitzenkandidat will be, informally making them the face of their election bid. The spitzenkandidat who can secure a majority governing coalition in the European Parliament (353 MEPs) will become European Commission President if nominated by the European Council (Heads of national governments and states).

Potential Coalitions to support a spitzenkandidat

Based on the distribution of seats as of 2 July 2019.

The candidates of the 2019 EU Election campaign

Click through the tabs to read about the candidates.

The liberal-conservative European Peoples Party (EPP) confirmed Manfred Weber as their spitzenkandidat with a delegate vote in Helsinki on 7-8 November 2018.

Frans Timmermans is the spitzenkandidat for the centre-left Party of European Socialists (S&D group in the European Parliament).

The conservative Alliance of Conservatives and Reformists in Europe (ECR group in the European Parliament) has nominated Jan Zahradil as their spitzenkandidat.

The European Green Party (G/EFA group in the European Parliament) has nominated two spitzenkandidaten.

On 28 January 2019, the “European Left” (part of the GUE/NGL group in the European Parliament) nominated Slovenian MP Violeta Tomic (L-GUE/NGL) & the Secretary General of the Metalworkers’ Union of Belgium Nico Cue as transnational spitzenkandidaten for the EU election 2019.

Transnational spitzenkandidat for the regionalist EFA is the Catalan ERC leader Oriol Junqueras, who is currently imprisioned because of his involvement in the 2017 Catalan independence referendum, which was outlawed by the Spanish authorities.

The Alliance of Liberals and Democrats in Europe (ALDE) presented a team of candidates, which run for the top jobs in Brussels. The team includes:

Guy Verhofstadt – President of the ALDE group, MEP and former Prime Minister of Belgium
Margrethe Vestager -Commissioner for Competition, previous Danish Minister for Economy and Interior
Nicola Beer – national spitzenkandidat of ALDE party in Germany FDP
Katalin Cseh – national spitzenkandidat of ALDE party in Hungary Momentum
Luis Garicano – Vice President of the ALDE Party
Emma Bonino – Former European Commissioner for Health and Consumer Protection, former Italian Minister of Foreign Affairs
Violeta Bulc – Commissioner for Transport, former Deputy Prime Minister of Slovenia

Former Greek Finance Minister Yanis Varoufakis is transnational spitzenkandidat for “European Spring”.

The transnational parties European Pirate Party, Europe-Democracy-Esparanto, European Federalist Party, European Party for Individual Liberty, Initiative of Communists and Workers’ Party in Europe are not recognized by the European Union and all failed to present transnational spitzenkandidaten.

German Satire party DIE PARTEI has informally nominated Nico Semsrott as transnational spitzenkandidat. DIE PARTEI is not organized as a transnational party and hence cannot formally nominate a transnational spitzenkandidat.

The right-wing transnational MENF party, which is affiliated with the ENF Group in the European Parliament, failed to present a European spitzenkandidat.

More EU2019