Become a Patron!

Vatican City

Flag of Vatican City

National Parliament Composition

As with almost all monarchies, the executive, legislative and judicial power of government resides in the crown, in this case in the office of the Bishop of Rome (the Pope). However, as with many monarchies, the Pope exercises this power through other organs which act on his behalf and in his name: โ€˜The Supreme Pontiff, sovereign of Vatican City State, has the fullness of legislative, executive, and judicial powers.โ€™

The Pope delegatesย legislativeย authority for the state to theย unicameralย Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State. The current members were appointed in 2018 and are
โ€ข Giuseppe Bertello (*; President of the Pontifical Commission)
โ€ข Kevin J. Farrell (*)
โ€ข Giuseppe Petrocchil (*)
โ€ข Stanisล‚aw Ryล‚kol (*)
โ€ข Leonardo Sandril (*)
โ€ข Domenico Calcagnol (*)
โ€ข Beniamino Stella (*).

The pope delegates executive authority to the Governorate of Vatican City state, which consists of the President of the Pontifical Commission (Head of Government), a General Secretary, and a Vice General Secretary, each appointed for five-year terms by the Pope.


Head of State (Pope)Jorge Mario Bergoglio (โ€˜Franciscusโ€™) (*)
Head of Government (PM)Giuseppe Bertello (*)
Members of Governmentโ€ข Giuseppe Bertello (*; President of the Governorate)
โ€ข Fernando Vรฉrgez Alzaga (*; General Secretary of the Governorate of Vatican City State)
โ€ข Pietro Parolin (*; State Secretary of the Holy See)

National Polling Average

No polls exist in the Vatican City State.


No parties exist in the Vatican City State.